Blog

At long last, I have finished the form of a new sculptural painting. I have been working on some ideas for imagery and have, worked on a composite in Photoshop. The theme is water, human impact on the environment. My goal is to create a painting that has a visual harmony, both in terms of form, color and theme, but one that also gives a voice to some of the issues that we face. The structure of this painting represents a long, narrow bridge spanning a turbulent river. There’s an unbelievable amount of work that goes into a painting. Just calculating the angles to cut is headache enough, but in the end it all falls into place. the painting is nearly 3 meters long (that’s 9 feet for my American friends). I had to make some practical decisions when building this one and have divided the panels in the center so that it will be possible to transport from the studio in a car. I’m attaching some pictures of the stretcher bars–the skeleton of the painting. Sometimes I feel it’s a shame to hide all of that work under a layer of linen.  /K

Bild0790Bild0791Bild0794Bild0802